Judges Instructions

On behalf of the Southwest Utah Sterling Scholar Committee, we wish to express appreciation to you for accepting our invitation to be a judge at the Forty-Fifth Annual Southwest Utah Sterling Scholar Awards Competition.

Before the Event

You should see an email from sterlingdmccore.com inviting you to create your account to the judging portal on March 15th. This will allow you to start reviewing and coring the student portfolios. You may print them off, but please shred them or bring them the day of judging.
Please take some time to review and preliminary scores, these can be changed later if you wish.
Please be sure to log in to the portfolio here before the event to make sure there are no technical difficulties.

You will have been contacted by SEDC with more instructions by March 15th.

Day of the Event
The day’s activities have been scheduled very closely, and time is an important factor in making these events a success.


You can park anywhere on campus and you will not be ticketed.

Campus Map

Click here to access

Internet Access

Please follow the instructions linked here.

10:00 AM Judges Welcome and review time (optional)

Please join us in the Zion Room in the Holland Building to meet with other judges and ask questions

11:00 Judges check in and Welcome
We will be serving boxed lunches from Subway

11:45 PM-Judges escorted to Interview rooms
12:00 PM-4:30 Interviews
Interviews will begin at 12:00. Each interview has been scheduled for (10) ten-minutes, with a (5) five-minute interval for review and evaluation.

4:00-4:30 PMDeliberations

Judges to complete final scoring and return results to Coordinator monitoring room.

The Awards Program will begin at 5:30 p.m. in the Burns Arena. You are cordially invited to attend this events.

If you need further clarification or have any questions, please feel free to call Selene at (435) 586-2865 or email at selene@sedck12.org
If you need any technical help. please contact Chris at chris@sedck12.org
Again, thank you for your assistance with the Sterling Scholar Program.